Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh! People suck!
Okay, so I got to work in a
semi-sociable mood (in contrast to yesterday's "STAY AWAY!") and a few
stupid customers ruined my mood. Besides the fact that whoever makes
the work schedules needs to rot in hell (well, maybe not that severe -
let's just give him/her an eternity as Richard Simmon's siamese twin). I
was outside alone as like 5+ people at a time stood waiting to check
out. I called for help, and there wasn't anyone to send out. Bleh.
And
then there's the fact that Ryan (the other cashier who came in at
11:30) always wanders away from his register to help out customers,
leaving me alone with several "spicy" people with just twenty minutes
before I'm scheduled to leave.
But an absolute asshole
(no other way to put it) takes the cake: some customer walks up to the
register in the middle of checking out customer 1 of 5,000,000 and asks
if we have any twine to secure his stuff to the top of his car or
whatever...I jump away from the register as a customer is writing a
check to point out the L&G spool of twine. We see that it's empty.
I tell him we've got some twine in the front of the store and some in
the drive-through and apologize for being out.
He
proceeds to stand there as I check out another customer. I look up,
wondering what the hell he's doing just standing there. and he aks,
"Are you going to go get some for me?"
I just stare for a second, stunned by this guy's stupidity, asshole-ism, whatever. Do you see
this line of customers that stretches to the middle of the Lawn &
Garden yard?! Do you honestly believe I would leave customers that have
waited going on ten minutes to check out just to get you some damn twine a few hundred yards away?
I mean, as a fellow employee once said, "It's called a DO IT YOURSELF warehouse!"
So
in an attempt to get this asshole as far away from me as humanly
possible, I start calling up department heads...none of which pick up
the phone. (All the while, I'm still checking out customers as this idiot stands there doing nothing but breathing.)
I'm
ready to scream at this guy to get the stupid twine himself (okay, not
really, I'd probably ask politely, "Sir, could you please get it
yourself?" ...Through gritted teeth maybe, but politely all the same)
when DON -- Charles' dad -- walks by on his way to lunch. Not realizing
at that point he was off the clock, I ask "is there any way you could
find some twine for me - we're all out (HELP ME!)"
Don
found someone to help the dumbass customer with the twine and the
customer comes back a few minutes later (obviously it takes him just as
long to cut twine as it does to move - rrr) and goes off on me. "I
asked for help and you didn't do anything... [I didn't?!] ...and I stood there for a long time [maybe five minutes after I told you where it was when you just decided to stand there like an idiot] and you forgot about me [if only I could]."
He
asked for my name because I guess he was gonna complain about me (which
is stupid because A:my name was right on my apron and B:he didn't have a
good enough grasp on English to do any complaining anyone would
understand). I just crumbled [pleaaase just leave!], "I was
trying to call someone up to help..." I just stopped halfway through
because I realized there was no sense trying to talk sense into this
guy.
So it was nice to clock out for the day. And it was nice to get home. Though getting there was a different story.
Scheduled
until 4:45, I was stuck in traffic. And not only did several people
turn into the lane suddenly, causing me to pound on my brakes to avoid
crashing into them...yet another idiot trying to merge into my lane just
cut right in front of me, no blinker or anything. Ohhh, I was pissed
and still AM pissed about that. I mean, I would probably have let him
over had I KNOWN he was turning, but NOOOO, let's just cut in front of
me with inches between my bumper and your driver's side door!
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh! People suck!
No comments:
Post a Comment