Almost April. I'm outside (at work) on a less-than-perfect morning
(it's gonna rain...eventually). Quite a change from this weekend 78º
Saturday, 80º Sunday. (Weird, for a Midwestern girl.)
Had a pretty good Sunday, other than the fact that I almost melted
in the heat. Was told I look German (?) by Jason, a cashier (with a
German girlfriend). Was chatted to about Alex's (Inside Garden) booze-y
birthday, among other things. Actually made it through STAR WARS 2 (The Empire Strikes Back?) after falling asleep twice - and through the first one as well. Sooory, but they don't rock my world.
("Star Trek: The Next Generation," on the other hand...Data rocks my
world!! Just kidding. Though I've always had a thing for Jean-Luc
Picard's - Patrick Stewart's - accent. But don't look read any further
into that.)
Anyway...back to the world of STAR WARS. The
first lacked any semblance of a plot. The second was boring and Luke is
such a pansy (though Anakin is much worse in "Episode 2"). I dunno...I
guess George Lucas was so obsessed over the graphical elements of the
trilogy that he overlooked the importance of character development. All
so text-book (or I would assume, having never read any screenwriting
textbooks).
...Luke's afraid of his destiny but determined
to overcome the dark side without sacrificing the innocent. Han hides
behind his cocky, tough-guy facade. As does Leia - behind her exterior
of rough, feminine authority, she just wants somone to love. R2-D2 and
3-CPO (or whatever his name is) were basically just there for laughs
and/or necessity. The only character I found myself truly drawn to was
Chewbacca (I love you Brian!). Not going to delve into why because I've
wasted enough time writing about a movie I don't even like. (Though
it's probably because I find all that body hair sexy. LOL.)
No comments:
Post a Comment